C3 General General C3 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What to Look for when buying an older Corvette?

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2008, 08:55 AM
Rickw96
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What to Look for when buying an older Corvette?

Hello,

I'm the guy looking for a 1975 for the wife. I am new to the Corvette scene.

What are the top questions I should be asking when looking for the car? This is what I have come up with so far:

1. Rust, frame
2. Does it have P/S
3. Does it have A/C
4. Condition of engine/trans
5. Auto/Manual trans
6. Miles
7. Documentation
8. Rear end posi?
9. Interior condition

What am I missing??? I have heard about rust in the "bird cage"???

An input would help.

Thanks
Rick
Old 06-29-2008, 10:29 AM
rydoc
Pro

http://www.geocities.com/MotorCity/D...00/guide2.html

Here is a place to begin

Rod
Love the Vette
Old 06-29-2008, 01:26 PM
Rickw96
6th Gear

Thanks Rod!
Old 06-29-2008, 03:40 PM
Tewski
Pro

Received 95 Likes on 49 Posts
St. Jude Donor '06-'07-'08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17-'23-'24

This website has some good information for the inspection process, print it out and take it with you.

http://www.corvettefaq.com/c3/dpg/part1.htm
Old 06-29-2008, 04:06 PM
LYLE
Melting Slicks

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

If you ask don't think you will get the truth as the ones that know could lie and the ones that don't know can't help either. Find a Corvette guy who has been around the hobby and pay him if needed to inspect any car you like before you buy it. Learn all you can but to be safe get help in buying an old Corvette.
Old 06-29-2008, 04:09 PM
rydoc
Pro

If the owner will let you, remove the kick panels, check the rust,

Driver side

Passengers side

these are quite clean, not driven in the winter

If you put a white towel on the front floor up close to the under side of the dash...open and close the door a few times...check the towel for flakes of rust...

Rod
Love the Vette