Sponsored by:

79 Acceleration Stumble/Die Problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2007, 11:12 PM
curving_edge
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 79 Acceleration Stumble/Die Problem

I recently just bought a 1979 Chevy Corvette with 81k original miles and I am the 3rd owner. I am no expert mechanic but I know my way around if need be. I love the car to death but I am now clueless on what to do. Here is the problem.

Car ran great a-b no problem untill the car started to stumble on accel. As I was driving 45 mph with the pedal half way down to keep at 45, the vehicle suddenly started decelerating. As i pumped the pedal to accelerate, the car quickly decelerated faster until the engine actually died. So I pulled over in a neiborhood and tried cranking her, and nothing. gave her 5 min and she came to life like nothing happened. She kept doing this during the next week, dying 2-3 times a day! So I asked a couple of friends what the trouble could be since they are chevy-holics and gave me some pointers. 1)Replace the carb 2)vaccumm lines gotta go 3) EGR has gotta go

So I did, letting them do it since they have done this first hand to their nova's and charger's. I now have a Edelbrock 600 on. Edelbrock intake. Vaccumm lines astray. And a custom plate to cover the EGR.

Drove the car some more that following day and she seemed to be more attentive. But died even more! So I asked a technician and he gave some following pointers. 1)Fuel filter 2)Fuel lines leaking 3) Fuel Pump.

I changed fuel filters (Good thing, they were black). I checked all fuel lines and replaced all (Good thing, one was leakin). and replaced the fuel pump from Advance Auto (Factory Replacement).