Buying a C3, what to look for.

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2007, 01:36 AM
murraybs
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying a C3, what to look for.

Hello folks,
I'm looking to buy a certain '73 Vette in my area and I was wondering what I should look for to make sure I'm not getting screwed.

From what the current owner says, the engine was put in 11k ago (not sure of the specs though) and the TH400 in it was overhauled at about the same time. From the pictures, the body lines are straight, paint looks cherry, etc. but I'm sure there'll be something that's a common problem that I'd overlook since I'm new to C3s.

Here's the link to the car.
http://www.cars.com/go/search/detail...eadExists=true

Thanks in Advance.
Old 04-22-2007, 01:45 AM
Scootin_Z
Burning Brakes

Received 22 Likes on 4 Posts

I would start by asking for receipts for that motor and trans. If he put it them he would know what's in it. Also is the car local? I personally would not but a car sight unseen. I say look at it in person before you buy it. Especially if there has been a motor swap. Who knows whats under the skin.
Not sure if the 73 was as prone to the usuall birdcage rot and kick ups in the frame but my guess would be yes. I am new to C3's as well...but I learned as much as I could on the year I was looking at and went to look at mine with a veteran vet guy who is local.

Good luck. Car looks nice from the pics...
Old 04-22-2007, 01:51 AM
ETM
Melting Slicks

Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

The more documentation the better.If the engine was rebuilt 11K ago he should have some paperwork to back that up.Remember that anyone can say anything.

The condition of the interior speaks alot about the overall condition of the car.Weatherstripping,carpet well cared for or ratty?Ofcourse checks for leaks,collision damage.

Many of these car were rode hard and let out wet so accidents are common.