Vette School Project

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2005, 10:31 PM
Oklahoma Academy
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Vette School Project

Hello all,

I am Fred Volz, auto shop teacher at Oklahoma Academy, here in beautiful Harrah, Oklahoma.
Our auto shop class just acquired a 1971 Stingray 350/330 with T-400. The front has been wiped out, but other than that the car is very nice and the frame is still good. It has no engine, but the guy we got it from threw in a 1972 Four bolt main/1.94 head 350 to sweeten the deal.We hope to restore or customize this car and sell it as a fundraiser for the school.
This is a new experience for me as well as the students and, outside of some 'glass work many moons ago on a '67, I have no experience on Corvettes. So I will be asking a large amount of silly questions as we go through this in the next year. I have a few no-brainers to start out.

1- Is there any difference between a Stingray and a regular base model Vette in '71 or were they all called Stingrays?

2-Is the 350/330 option a big deal or is that the standard equipment engine?

3- If the car cannot be numbers matching are we better off in terms of return on investment by customizing the car (flares, hood, air dam)or getting as close to stock as possible. (NO, this is not a "Corvette Summer" thing, that was one ugly car!)

4- What is with the name inscribed on the steering wheel (duntov)?

As you can see, I'm a definite newbie.
Old 08-13-2005, 10:43 PM
dfellinger
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

All 1971s were called Stingray