C3 General General C3 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Why doesn't my engine put out more power?

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2005, 07:52 PM
DJ Dep
Le Mans Master

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
St. Jude Donor '05-'07

Default Why doesn't my engine put out more power?

Nope...I don't have a problem with power. Heck, I don't have an ENGINE yet But I have seen so many of these posts I thought it might be worth looking into.
The vast majority of these posts seem to come from smallblock owners who are disappointed on "dyno day". Big block guys post stuff like "what do I do with all this power"

Most of these posts about lack of power come from guys who have done mods to their engine. The main problem seems to be that they want gobs of power, but also want to run on pump gas. What really blows me away is the amount of money and mods the people make to their cars to get more "power". So lets get to the basics first. I am no expert by any stretch, so I welcome suggestions by those that know more.

My suggestions:
FIRST thing that should be looked at for better performance for your car is the rear end gear. The installation of a higher rear gear is probably the ONE most noticeable thing you can do to get more power to the rear wheels. It is also the one of the things that will cause you to use more gas. In some cases, LOTS more gas. So if you are a penny pincher who wants to get 45MPG, you will NOT be happy with a steep rear gear. If you don't give a hoot about gas prices and are more interested in smoking the rear tires, a gear CAN get the job done. Of course, if you have the cash, you can install a 5 or 6 speed trans or a 4 speed auto. That will improve the mileage for highway driving. Note also that a rear gear will mean you have to rebuild your engine sooner since it's turning at higher revs than a 3.08 gear all the time.
Nothings free in this world