Corvette Forum  


Go Back   Corvette Forum > C1 & C2 Corvettes, 1953 - 1967 > C1s & C2s for Sale/Wanted
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Vendors Buy a Vette Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ PhotosGarage

C1s & C2s for Sale/Wanted Private Classifieds: Used Classic Corvettes For Sale, Modified or Stock Corvettes, and Restored or Original Corvettes

Corvette Store
 
 
C6 Parts & Accessories
C5 Parts & Accessories
Wheels & Tires
Sponsored Ads
 
 
Vendor Directory
 
Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-25-2009, 10:20 AM   #1
Hoosier44
CF Senior Member
 
Hoosier44's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2005
Location: West Chester Ohio
Default What are they smoking?

Sheesh.. maybe they've added 1 to many zeroes.

http://toledo.craigslist.org/cto/1411907197.html

Scott
Hoosier44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 11:00 AM   #2
Vette Daddy
CF Senior Member
 
Vette Daddy's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jul 2009
Location: Pendleton IN
Default

If it weren't for the high price tag, (maybe it was meant to be $8000), it amost sounds like a scam. Broken english I HOPE, LOL.
Vette Daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 12:26 AM   #3
4440stevesvette
CF Senior Member
 
4440stevesvette's Avatar
 
Member Since: Feb 2008
Location: prescott arizona
Default Too many zeros

They sound like a couple of zeros themselves, even too lazy to pull the cover off for a decent photo let alone a good description. RUN, FOREST, RUN!!!
4440stevesvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 03:47 PM   #4
StingU2
CF Senior Member

 
StingU2's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jan 2006
Location: Auburn Indiana
Default

Very puzzling!
StingU2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 01:37 AM   #5
Smokefoot
CF Member
 
Member Since: Dec 2008
Location: Simi Valley CA
Default 62

They speak of "originality" and then show it with a photo of an aftermarket hardtop...........
My guess is that it's a scam that was meant to be priced at $8000. Paul
Smokefoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 01:59 PM   #6
Tempus_Fugit
CF Senior Member
 
Tempus_Fugit's Avatar
 
Member Since: Apr 2005
Location: America's North Coast Minnesota
Default

Seems unusual for a scam ad to have 2 phone numbers. I googled them and one is to a landline in OH. They also sold an old school bus.

I am going with the recreational drug theory.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Smokefoot View Post
They speak of "originality" and then show it with a photo of an aftermarket hardtop...........
My guess is that it's a scam that was meant to be priced at $8000. Paul
Tempus_Fugit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 01:06 AM   #7
Smokefoot
CF Member
 
Member Since: Dec 2008
Location: Simi Valley CA
Default ..........smoking?????????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempus_Fugit View Post

I am going with the recreational drug theory.
Certainly a viable theory!
Smokefoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 01:36 PM   #8
67tripwr
CF Senior Member

 
67tripwr's Avatar
 
Member Since: Mar 2004
Location: Bringing The Liberal Hypocrisy To Light, Tolerance Has Become Intolerable
Default

It's great for them, if some idiot wants to spend 80k on a project car!
67tripwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 08:50 PM   #9
PinkVetteLady
CF Senior Member
 
PinkVetteLady's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jun 2009
Location: Clayton NortCacklackie
Default

I like the jackstands...


PinkVetteLady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 08:59 PM   #10
stingrayl76
CF Senior Member
 
stingrayl76's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jun 2003
Location: Grosse Ile MI
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PinkVetteLady View Post
I like the jackstands...

The rear axle fits on the concrete block very nicely. Wonder if he realizes that the strength of the block is very minimal when used like that. Duh, probably not.
stingrayl76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 09:12 PM   #11
StingU2
CF Senior Member

 
StingU2's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jan 2006
Location: Auburn Indiana
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempus_Fugit View Post
They also sold an old school bus.

I am going with the recreational drug theory.
They sold the Magic Bus! Now I know what they were Smokin'!
StingU2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 08:17 PM   #12
Z51JEFF
CF Senior Member
 
Z51JEFF's Avatar
 
Member Since: Dec 2003
Location: Fremont Ca. I will do No business with ANY company that boycotts Arizona.
Send a message via AIM to Z51JEFF
Default

Do the one off jack stands come with the car?
Z51JEFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 01:39 PM   #13
Panama 58
CF Senior Member
 
Panama 58's Avatar
 
Member Since: May 2001
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z51JEFF View Post
Do the one off jack stands come with the car?
My guess is no, but the stand one jack off probably does.
Panama 58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 08:16 PM   #14
oldschoolvette
CF Senior Member
 
oldschoolvette's Avatar
 
Member Since: Nov 2006
Location: Orlando FL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smokefoot View Post
They speak of "originality" and then show it with a photo of an aftermarket hardtop...........
My guess is that it's a scam that was meant to be priced at $8000. Paul
oldschoolvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 12:28 PM   #15
redvetracr
CF Senior Member
 
redvetracr's Avatar
 
Member Since: Aug 1999
Default

"what are they smoking"?? the same thing most everyone else trying to sell a Corvette is smoking, whatever it is it`s from 2006....and it`s not coming back any time soon.
redvetracr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 06:22 PM   #16
JM55Vette
Junior Member
 
Member Since: Nov 2009
Default

Well, the listing isn't there anymore, someone must have bought it!
... and I have some land in Florida for sale...
JM55Vette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 06:22 PM
 
Go Back   Corvette Forum > C1 & C2 Corvettes, 1953 - 1967 > C1s & C2s for Sale/Wanted
Reload this Page What are they smoking?
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
forum, smokin, smoking, vette


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Click for Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT:eBay '68 Chevelle SS....What Are These People Smoking??? Paul Borowski C3 Tech/Performance 11 01-11-2004 12:07 AM
Where are C3 prices going??? Paul G C3 Tech/Performance 35 11-12-2003 02:33 PM
Maybe these C6 photos are smoke... mitchydkid C6 Corvette General Discussion 101 10-26-2003 10:29 PM
What are the chances of the C6 being supercharged? crheinish C6 Corvette General Discussion 41 06-19-2003 12:59 PM
What a horrible Idea to do to a vette StealDads67 C4 General Discussion 51 12-29-2002 12:17 AM
HOW FAST ARE YOU??? XtremeVette420 C4 Tech/Performance 29 05-06-2002 03:21 PM
Smoking on the highway???Leaky Tranny???Need help!!! BADCAIMAN C3 Tech/Performance 14 03-06-2002 10:21 PM
What is the fastest c-4??.....Excluding the ZR-1 Alwyn678 C4 Tech/Performance 33 01-31-2002 01:05 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.1 PL1
Emails & Password Backup