Corvette Forum  


Go Back   Corvette Forum > C1 & C2 Corvettes, 1953 - 1967 > C1s & C2s for Sale/Wanted
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Vendors Buy a Vette Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ PhotosGarage

C1s & C2s for Sale/Wanted Private Classifieds: Used Classic Corvettes For Sale, Modified or Stock Corvettes, and Restored or Original Corvettes

Corvette Store
 
 
C6 Parts & Accessories
C5 Parts & Accessories
Wheels & Tires
Sponsored Ads
 
 
Vendor Directory
 
Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-10-2008, 12:58 PM   #1
ss396t6
CF Senior Member

 
ss396t6's Avatar
 
Member Since: Feb 2005
Location: Arlington TX
Default 1967 on Craigslist

I have no affiliation with the Corvette, owner, or the sale. But $21K for a 427 convertible?

http://dallas.craigslist.org/car/714629669.html
ss396t6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 01:41 PM   #2
stingrayl76
CF Senior Member
 
stingrayl76's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jun 2003
Location: Grosse Ile MI
Default Scam

Removed from Craigslist. Good bet is was a scam.
stingrayl76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 02:28 PM   #3
ss396t6
CF Senior Member

 
ss396t6's Avatar
 
Member Since: Feb 2005
Location: Arlington TX
Default

Thought it would be. Or.....the seller had a typo in the money amount. Probably was supposed to be a six digit figure. Ya' think?
ss396t6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 03:29 PM   #4
stingrayl76
CF Senior Member
 
stingrayl76's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jun 2003
Location: Grosse Ile MI
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ss396t6 View Post
Thought it would be. Or.....the seller had a typo in the money amount. Probably was supposed to be a six digit figure. Ya' think?
Good thought. Nobody would scam a Corvette on Craigslist.
stingrayl76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 05:31 PM   #5
Bowtyeguy
CF Senior Member
 
Bowtyeguy's Avatar
 
Member Since: Apr 2006
Location: Phoenixville Pa
Default

http://philadelphia.craigslist.org/car/714640568.html




Good thing the scum post in different States
Bowtyeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 05:52 PM   #6
65convt
CF Senior Member
 
65convt's Avatar
 
Member Since: Sep 2001
Location: Fairless Hills PA.
Default

Well, at least it's roadworthy. It travelled from Dallas to Philly!
I guess he thinks we Pa people are easier than Texas folks
65convt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 09:12 PM   #7
1snake
CF Senior Member
 
1snake's Avatar
 
Member Since: Dec 2007
Location: Puget Sound Wa.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bowtyeguy View Post
http://philadelphia.craigslist.org/car/714640568.html




Good thing the scum post in different States

The ad was obviously typed by a 4th grade drop out. He11, my cat can spell better than that.
1snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 10:31 PM   #8
Paul_DC
CF Member
 
Paul_DC's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jul 2004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 65convt View Post
Well, at least it's roadworthy. It travelled from Dallas to Philly!
I guess he thinks we Pa people are easier than Texas folks
Then on to DC. Already gone on DC CL.
Paul_DC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 10:39 PM   #9
Bowtyeguy
CF Senior Member
 
Bowtyeguy's Avatar
 
Member Since: Apr 2006
Location: Phoenixville Pa
Default

Yea but is your cat matching numbers?
Bowtyeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 11:02 PM   #10
Paul_DC
CF Member
 
Paul_DC's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jul 2004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bowtyeguy View Post
Yea but is your cat matching numbers?
I hear it has the infamous de-claw modification.
Paul_DC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 12:13 AM   #11
rayvaflav
CF Senior Member
Support Corvetteforum!
 
rayvaflav's Avatar
 
Member Since: Apr 2006
Location: Oklahoma City Oklahoma
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bowtyeguy View Post
http://philadelphia.craigslist.org/car/714640568.html




Good thing the scum post in different States
Hey now, don't badmouth the seller. We all know that there comes a time when we are moving and simply need the money. Oh, I'm sorry, I mean nood the money.
rayvaflav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 03:08 PM   #12
dmchyla
Junior Member
 
Member Since: May 2000
Location: Waukesha WI
Default

He posted in Chicago too. I emailed him for fun. Here's his reply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by paris duarte, scam artist
Hello

Thank you for your email and for your interest in my car.
The price i am hoping to sell this car is $21000 US.
You have to know that i will request a 2,900 US deposit with remaining balance upon delivery.
The shipping taxes are included in this price (that means i will pay
all shipping taxes, as seller - all you will have to pay is the car`s price)

Regarding the car i have for sale you have to know that is in perfect
conditions, grat shape, near showroom conditions. No dents, no dings and everything is in
great conditions. No accidents, no mechanical or electrical problems,
very clean interior and motor runs perfect. Allways garaged! The title is clear and it is USA registred. It is transferable for free. It is a matching numbers car - original one, not a kit or replica.

The car belongs to my brother. He died one week ago in a bike accident. I am now located in Richmond, BC - Canada and the car is here with me. I will cover all shipping taxes form here if you are ready to move on.
I am now here as i took care of the funerals. Because i have no use
for this i am selling it.

I wait your further questions and i will provide any infos you need.
Thank you
I asked for extensive pictures of the car, plus a picture of the title and registration. Waiting patiently for a reply...
dmchyla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 03:44 PM   #13
Bowtyeguy
CF Senior Member
 
Bowtyeguy's Avatar
 
Member Since: Apr 2006
Location: Phoenixville Pa
Default

I got the exact same cut and paste.
Bowtyeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 05:20 PM   #14
C2Driver
CF Senior Member
 
C2Driver's Avatar
 
Member Since: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto Ontario
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmchyla View Post
He posted in Chicago too. I emailed him for fun. Here's his reply.

I asked for extensive pictures of the car, plus a picture of the title and registration. Waiting patiently for a reply...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bowtyeguy View Post
I got the exact same cut and paste.
You'd think that by now that at least one of these Nigerian Scammers would have learned how to use the English language. I have never yet seen a piece of correspondence from these P'sOS that wasn't rife with grammatical errors and spelling mistakes. Yet these jerks still manage to fool some people. Really makes you wonder.

- Pat
C2Driver is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 08:28 PM   #15
LBZ51girl
CF Senior Member
CI 6-7-8-9 Veteran
St. Jude Donor '08

 
LBZ51girl's Avatar
 
Member Since: Feb 2006
Location: Gales Ferry CT
Default

This same guy posted on Boston craigslist. I replied to him - you just never know with the economy and such. Got the exact email reply that was posted above.

I guess we are all looking for that "great deal" - I know they are out there, but yet to find one myself - the search continues!!

I NEVER pay for anything for that kind of money I cannot see, touch, inspect for myself. My bother-in-law almost got taken for $12,000 on a car from England - thank goodness he sent the stuff to us to look at before he sent his money; it also was a scam.
LBZ51girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 10:03 PM   #16
Qblue92
CF Senior Member
St. Jude Donor '08

 
Qblue92's Avatar
 
Member Since: Sep 2001
Location: Arlington Tx
Default

There was one like that earlier in Dal. A '67 coupe for $23K or so. Scammers.
Qblue92 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 10:03 PM
 
Go Back   Corvette Forum > C1 & C2 Corvettes, 1953 - 1967 > C1s & C2s for Sale/Wanted
Reload this Page 1967 on Craigslist
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
1967, 67, boston, bowtyeguy, cars, corvette, corvettes, craigslist, craigslistorg, craigslists, dallas, pa, philadelphiacraigslist, sale, site


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Click for Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.1 PL1
Emails & Password Backup