C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Should I buy this 1961?

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2004, 06:18 PM
Joemac8
Drifting

Received 2,264 Likes on 437 Posts

Default Should I buy this 1961?

I have no experience with C1 cars and went to look at one today. This is a very early car produced in the first month of production. I used the NCRS judging manual and got advice on this forum on what to look for. I'd like to present what I saw and get some opinions from those of you with experience. Now I know that this is not a new car and that it has been use for over 40 years and it shows. Here are the strong and weak points:

PLUS
Strong engine
Clutch feels good
Shifts correctly
Engine casting number correct
Engine pad numbers correct
correct intame manifold
Both carbuerators correct
Correct generator
Correct distributor
Correct master cylinder
Corect fan clutch
Vin present on steering column
No under body rust
Axel straps present
Body straight for most part
Repainted quite a while ago but still decent
Correct hardtop with correct glass

Minuses
Replacement valve covers (have casting flaw not present till 65)
car is white, wheels are red
engine compartment very rough with extensive rust on exhaust manifolds and other unpainted metal
Trunk lid high in lower left & upper right corners (bowed?)
Radiator painted
Under hood paint seems to be semi-gloss instead of flat black
Wrong seat belts
Window & door rubber needs replacement
Wrong antenna
Tach doesn't work
Radio doesn't work
Clock doesn't work
Odometer doesn't work, spedo does
Heater fan doesn't turn on (switch?)
4" indented line in glass over rt rear wheel, evidence or repair felt underneath
Wiper scratch on windshield
Replaced passenger door glass