C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

[C1] Numbers Matching???

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2023, 10:08 AM
Newbievettedude
Cruising

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Numbers Matching???

This vehicle is for sale online and the owner is depicting it as a numbers matching car. It is a 1960, and the code is a little hard to read but I think it says V0909XBB. Which doesnt make sense to be numbers matching. I am new to these cars and am constantly learning so I am afraid I am missing something. I would be purchasing the car for my father as a retirement gift and I know how much he appreciates all original cars.
Old 04-06-2023, 10:22 AM
leif.anderson93
Le Mans Master

Received 3,128 Likes on 1,874 Posts

Someone has really gouged up that pad. As you stated, tough to read. I'm thinking V0909YB. If that's correct you have either:

YB 68 307 200 2B,PG TR...'68 307cu in/ 200hp, 2 barrel carb, powerglide, from a truck
YB 69 366 235 4B,MT TR...'69 366 cu in/ 235 hp, 4 barrel carb, manual trans, from a truck

Can't read the partial VIN on the pad. What does it read and what is the VIN of the car?

Either way, it's not from a Corvette.
Old 04-06-2023, 11:10 AM
Pboyd
Instructor

Received 104 Likes on 65 Posts

A 366 is a big block, so this must be a 68 307.
Old 04-06-2023, 11:20 AM
Newbievettedude
Cruising

Yes, and I thought that they didnt start using The V at the beginning until 67 anyways so my thoughts are correct it seems.
The following users liked this post:
67:72 (04-08-2023)
Old 04-06-2023, 12:30 PM
Dreaming60’s
Drifting

Received 421 Likes on 247 Posts
C1 of Year Finalist (appearance mods) 2019