C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

[C2] K66 ignition coils

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2021, 08:00 PM
Fwyflier
Navigator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default K66 ignition coils

I new here but I have been a boat mechanic and car restorer all my life. I just purchased a 1967 427 435hp that was in an estate sale and looked to be sitting around for some time. Someone had replaced the distributor with a points one. I have found and purchased an original distributor, and obviously, the there are repro amps available. However I have been unable to find the coil for this system. There are and assortment of repro. coils out there (not made in USA) that are GM registered products however no 1115263 are left and I have resigned to use a different number as they are all built the same. However my research indicates these are not that reliable and everyone that I have talked to say its a hit and miss thing, as far as longevity. Primary ohm readings for the original coils are 0.41-0.51. Since I can't get the 263 coil I was thinking there might be an alternative available Someone had suggested ProTronix 44011 Flame Thrower III would work as it has a low primary ohm reading. I looked it up and it has a primary ohms of 0.31. Most other canister coils are .070 and above. Has anyone run into this dilemma. Please let me know what everyone has experienced with this issue. Thanks
Old 09-15-2021, 08:12 PM
Nowhere Man
Team Owner

Received 6,989 Likes on 4,808 Posts
2015 C2 of Year Finalist

keep a eye out for NOS 207 coils. that is what GM sold to fit every TI application. stay away from NON GM coils
The following users liked this post:
Dave Strickland (11-23-2021)
Old 09-15-2021, 08:45 PM
DSR
Drifting

Received 128 Likes on 93 Posts

Check parts for sale section. "C2 parts for sale" by playswithcars for your coil.

Last edited by DSR; 09-15-2021 at 08:45 PM.
Old 09-15-2021, 08:59 PM
R66