C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

[C1] need power steering advise

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2020, 11:26 AM
JoeU2
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need power steering advise

I want/need to put power steering in my 58, and would appreciate advise on how to go.The electric one looks like the easiest way to go, but I am leery of stuff I have no experience with. At first look around, the one I think would work the best is one of the Steerroids kits. But I sure would like to hear from anyone with experience with this kit. Like what pump, mounts, pulleys, I want headers but which ones? and should I change to sidemounts? (my motor is a later 350 short-block with camel hump heads, and original 58 dual WCFB carbs ). and does it work well?

Old 03-13-2020, 09:24 PM
Big Block 60
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I put the Steeroids kit on my '60 last year and I love it. I went with the power steering and headers kit. Call'em and talk to them. Things chain from year to year but I had to buy Hooker Headers. They will tell you which ones. Just finished my buddies '59 yesterday. Non headers with power steering.
Old 03-14-2020, 10:09 AM
Dreaming60’s
Drifting

Received 425 Likes on 248 Posts
C1 of Year Finalist (appearance mods) 2019

Almost talking about two different animals here. Steeriods is a Rack and Pinion conversion to get away from the stock king pin set up on C-1's and can be had with and without PS. If you buy their kit that includes PS, it requires pulleys, pumps, and typical "old school" PS components added to the engine bay. It requires modification of the steering column.