C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

[C2] build 383 stroker with son

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2018, 05:19 PM
vallance
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default build 383 stroker with son

Hi all. I'm thinking about a project with my 15 year old son, who would love to build his own engine and might be a budding engineer. My 66 has body off right now, so it would be convenient time!

I would love to hear your advice on how to configure and purchase a good kit. It would be our first time doing it, but I'm a mechanical engineer and feel comfortable. I just don't want to spend forever researching parts and options.

I know i want a 383 stroker with ton of torque and over 400 HP, and I want it to fit in my 66 without alterations.

I would like to call a vendor that will help me make all the choices and ship me boxes of parts. I want to start with clean and machined block and build it up.

Any suggestions on vendor that can help me configure the entire kit to work with my 66?

Thanks, in advance.

- Ryan
Old 05-06-2018, 05:40 PM
kellsdad
Melting Slicks

Received 771 Likes on 402 Posts

Ryan,
Congrats on the plan. Here are my first thoughts.