C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Possible Vapor-Lock on '64 (?)

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2014, 02:15 PM
kgronquist@cox.net
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Possible Vapor-Lock on '64 (?)

I acquired an excellent '64 Sting Ray two years ago but I have one persistent, significant problem. I am not a mechanic, so I have to rely on the knowledge and expertise of others. I live in Las Vegas so it gets pretty toasty here Jun/Jul through Aug/Sep. Here's the problem and it usually only occurs when the ambient temperatures are around 90 or above: I can start the car from a cold start always without fail. Then I go out for a cruise long enough (usually 20-30 miles) to get the operating temperatures up to peak. The car runs great without a hiccup, and when I pull it back into the garage my IR gun tells me the thermostat housing is usually no higher than my 180 degree thermostat. Here's where the problem starts: When I attempt to restart the car a few minutes after shut-down (sometimes as long as 45 minutes to an hour later) it always starts, but then after driving 50 yards or so it just craps out on me. When looking into the carb there's usually either a very weak fuel flow when I pump the throttle, or non at all. Then I pop the hood to get things cooled down, and then after 30 or 45 minutes I can get it started again and then go on my merry way. I got stranded away from home a couple times but have since learned a lesson until I get this matter resolved...don't stop/shut down anywhere except my garage during the warmer weather unless I've got plenty of time to cool down. This same scenario occurs virtually every time during the warmer weather. Several people, independent of each other, have said it seems like a vapor lock problem...since I can start a hot car after shutting down, but then after the fuel that was in the carb when I shut down gets used up (after