C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

3x2 questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2014, 08:41 AM
KNIPPS
Racer
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default 3x2 questions

I have a couple questions about my 3x2 set up. First after initial start up and even idling for a few minutes I put it in first and the hit the gas and the car bucks violently but settles after about 10-15 seconds or if you get on it..why?? Second, I have had issues with an erratic engine idle. What baffles me is that it doesn't happen all the time. At some stops the car RPM will dip to 500 and below and stall out (but will perk up a bit if you hit the gas a little) and at times it will idle at about 1200 and be fine. I know neither should happen but dont know why it only happens some times. I am still learning this 3x2 set up and would like to keep it but I have had others already suggest ditching it for a single 4bbl carb. Thanks Jim

67coupe w/rebuilt 427
Old 04-23-2014, 12:21 PM
Nowhere Man
Team Owner

Received 6,943 Likes on 4,782 Posts
2015 C2 of Year Finalist

When's the last time you rebuilt the dist
Old 04-23-2014, 01:21 PM
DansYellow66
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,620 Likes on 1,952 Posts

It could be a lot of things. Have the carbs been gone through? Have you checked for vacuum leaks around the intake and carbs? What is the timing set at? Does it have a stock cam? Is it the stock TI iginition system. Are the heat passages blocked on the intake? Choke set correctly per Holley/GM

Any of the mechanical lifter motors is going to take a little warming up before it will behave in a fairly civilized manner. Some bucking and low speed surging is not unusual due to the cam lope, related fluctuating of the centrifugal advance, intake not warmed up yet, etc.