C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Windshield Placement For Hardtop

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2014, 11:31 PM
jcarmichael
Instructor

Received 31 Likes on 17 Posts

Default Windshield Placement For Hardtop

I placed the hardtop on the 1957 body and the pins for the receiver brackets are too far forward. I know there was a complete thread on installing the windshield with measurements on here somewhere but none of my searches turn up anything. The hardtop also doesn't fit the windshield frame too well. I think the windshield is not set in correctly.
Old 04-20-2014, 10:03 PM
vettsplit 63
Le Mans Master

Location: "You may all go to Hell- and I will go to Texas- Davy Crockett
Received 474 Likes on 337 Posts
St. Jude Donor '12

I'm no expert, but from what I have read, the shims that are at each side under the rear corner of the windshield should make the top of the windshield go forward. I think I remember reading that you can start off with three per side, and that should get you pretty close, or at least if you are headed in the right direction. You also adjust the windows to fit the hardtop once you have it where you want it. Also, pay attention to the sequence recommended for latching the front and rear latches. You can break them. Good luck
Old 04-21-2014, 12:04 AM
jcarmichael
Instructor

Originally Posted by vettsplit 63
I'm no expert, but from what I have read, the shims that are at each side under the rear corner of the windshield should make the top of the windshield go forward. I think I remember reading that you can start off with three per side, and that should get you pretty close, or at least if you are headed in the right direction. You also adjust the windows to fit the hardtop once you have it where you want it. Also, pay attention to the sequence recommended for latching the front and rear latches. You can break them. Good luck