C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

1954 LS1 Turbo Restomod

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2013, 02:31 PM
Schraders
Intermediate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 1954 LS1 Turbo Restomod

Just to review...LS based iron 4.8/NV3500 5 speed stick, T72 turbo, centered Explorer rear end, leaf springs moved under the frame, Wilwood disc brakes up front and stock Ford discs in the rear. Otherwise stock suspension and steering. Body is uncut except for some minor mods to the firewall for the pedal box.

I've had the car on the road for about 1000 miles now, still sorting some minor issues but overall drives really nice and fast as hell! I haven't been to the dyno yet but I easily expect 520-ish to the rear tires on 10 pounds of boost and pump gas. Driveability out of the boost is spirited and in the boost is attention getting to say the least.

I build custom cars for a living and this one has kicked my *** from day one. I have never built a fiberglass car before (at least from scratch) and I must admit I am less than thrilled with the build quality of the original car. Panel fit is beyond horrible, I've never seen a factory built vehicle this bad. I would estimate 500-600 hours labor to finish this body to levels I would consider very nice. Frankly, I don't think that's worth it.

Chassis wise the car is surprisingly good. I guess this chassis was seeing 150 plus on road courses in the late 1950's so I shouldn't be that surprised but still, there is a lot more power on tap than it was ever designed for. Of course, it just goes sideways under power but it will go down the freeway at 80 all day long feeling very relaxed and in control.