C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Are you man enough?

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2013, 11:50 PM
Larry P
Burning Brakes

Received 46 Likes on 31 Posts

Default Are you man enough?

Are you man enough to admit to the dumbest thing you have ever done to a car? I am and I'll start it off. When I was 19 I wanted to lower my 60 pontiac convertable. I removed the front shocks and installed threaded rods and pulled it down. It looked good great with the fake tear drop spot lights. It didn't ride to good and cracked an A arm. My first suspension lesson.
LP
Old 05-11-2013, 01:29 AM
AZDoug
Race Director

Received 1,478 Likes on 905 Posts
C1 of Year Finalist (performance mods) 2019
2017 C1 of Year Finalist

I am an engineer. I don't recall ever doing anything stupid with machinery. Women is a different subject.

Doug
Old 05-11-2013, 06:12 AM
wmf62
Race Director

Received 729 Likes on 623 Posts
St. Jude Donor '07

didn't tighten an oil pan drain plug... plug fell out in the middle of a trip and i didn't stop. when i was able to stop and get a new plug (actually a tractor spark plug...) i filled it up and continued on.

eventually threw a rod through the side of the block put the rod cap stayed on the crank so it still had oil pressure. stuffed a rag in the hole and drove on...

a little rough at idle but it smoothed out at higher rpms, so i drove on... and continued to drive it that way for many months and many miles til the timing chain finally broke.
Bill
Old 05-11-2013, 06:17 AM
anyChevy
Pro

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

Originally Posted by Larry P
Are you man enough to admit to the dumbest thing you have ever done to a car? I am and I'll start it off. When I was 19 I wanted to lower my 60 pontiac convertable. I removed the front shocks and installed threaded rods and pulled it down.
LP