C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Help needed re horn removal in 1960

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2011, 12:24 PM
Temujen2000
Navigator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help needed re horn removal in 1960

I am a newbie, but with some mechanical experience dating back 40 years.
Here is my horn removal problem. The AIM shows that the horn is connected with one bold that threads into a plate assembly behind the skirt. The bold started OK, but then it appears the plate assembly became dislodged from the skirt because it now just turns without unthreading.
It appears there is no access to the area behind the skirt, to fasten or hold the spinning plate assembly. I was able to re-tighten it so at least the horn is not dangling.
I would like to keep it stock, but if I don't have options, I may opt to install a after market horn in the area behind the grill, so from a safety standpoint I at least can make noise.
What are my options?
Thanks for you help.
Lou
Old 12-31-2011, 12:59 PM
Pilot Dan
Le Mans Master

Received 428 Likes on 318 Posts

Hello and welcome. I experienced that same problem when I first got my 59 Vette 30 plus years ago brings back memories.

Your problem is that the horns (as do many other items on the Corvette) mount using a nut plate that is riveted to the body and a bolt goes through. The rivets are soft and when the bolts rust in they can shear and leave the plate to turn free, or worse break the fiberglass. Sounds like that is what happened here.