C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Racing Fuel - yes/no ?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2009, 07:07 PM
65hihp
Le Mans Master

Received 3,290 Likes on 1,694 Posts

Default Racing Fuel - yes/no ?

I know the topic has no doubt been covered, probably many times.
But I am a newbie, with my "new" 1965 327/365 hp roadster. My car is running original drive train, with its 11.0:1 compression ratio, and I assume original valve seats. There is a dealer near me that sells 111, 113 or 118 octane leaded fuel, so I can obtain this with no trouble, and I can safely store small quantites of it.
What is the concensus of opinion regarding the value or detriment of mixing in a dose of this when I fill up, with normal 91 grade unleaded gas. Is there any down side for my engine? I am willing to accept the extra cost of the racing gas, and mild inconvenience of getting it, considering the car is a Sunday driver.
Thanking all in advance for your advice.
Old 03-10-2009, 07:15 PM
rayvaflav
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 985 Likes on 492 Posts

I recently (last fall) filled the tank on my '66 300hp with 103 octane from a local Shell station really expecting a boost. I guess with the temperature in the air a little lower and a little more dense I was probably benefitting from that more than the higher octane. I will try it again in the summer and will be expecting a difference. One thing that I did notice were the headaches (seriously, not a pain in the *** but an actual pain in my head) from the higher octane fuel. I mean, all I had to do was get near the car and I could feel it. Starting the car in the garage with the side exhuast (yes, the door was open) was a real nightmare. But hey, I'll do it again in a couple of months !
Old 03-10-2009, 07:15 PM
wmf62
Race Director

Received 728 Likes on 622 Posts
St. Jude Donor '07