C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Hooker SidePipes - Chrome vs Coated

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2001, 09:13 AM
GreaseMonkey
Le Mans Master

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
PA Events Coordinator

Default Hooker SidePipes - Chrome vs Coated

Hi all,
Going to be running Hooker sidepipes on my '64. They make 3 finishes: chrome, black, and coated. I really like the chrome ones, but am afraid that since my car will be a driver they'll show their age rather quickly.

Leaning towards the coated ones. Anyone running them?
:cheers:
Old 10-17-2001, 09:48 AM
Top_Notch
Le Mans Master

Received 19 Likes on 6 Posts

Default Re: Hooker SidePipes - Chrome vs Coated (GreaseMonkey)

I have no direct experience with Hooker sidepipe, but have had experiences
with my Mu$t@ng. Chrome headers tend to discolor (blue/yellow) from the heat. I put ceramic coated headers (from BBK) on my Mu$t@ng about 5 years ago and today they still look like they came straight out of the box. Of course, they weren't cheap, but worth it to me. Additionally, they aren't really exposed like side-mounted headers would be, but they seem to hold up well. I know there have been reports of certain manufacturer's coating peeling and flaking after numerous heat cycles, so I know not all coatings are created the same.
Old 10-17-2001, 09:58 AM
Mike66
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Coated? When I bought mine they came in either chrome or black. In asking around I was told that rust will more often than not become an issue. I got the black and had them Jet Hotted to (theoretically) prevent the rust problems. Even with that I am now getting little holes in the bottom of the tubes (after 7 years, though).

If Hooker now makes them already coated, I'd definitely go with that. Mainly for the rust prevention, but also because, to my taste, black looks way cooler than chrome. (I'm assuming the coating is black)