Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Heal Toe and Pedal Location

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2003, 08:44 AM
YellaFella
Le Mans Master

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Heal Toe and Pedal Location

I'm working on heal/toe on the street, trying to be smooth enough to trust myself to apply this skill on the track and in combination with trail braking – which I assume to be the point and a skill I should develop to be a better track driver.

The gas pedal on my C5 seems too low in relation to the brake pedal. As I'm new at this perhaps it's my lack of proper technique/control, but it does seem the pedal location is designed to prevent a street driver from catching the wrong one more than would be optimal for heal/toe track application.

Has anyone moved the paddles and how? Anybody try a 1/4" rubber block on the gas pedal? Am I better served to simply improve my technique? Am I wrong regards my assumption of using heal toe to properly trail brake? Comments?
Old 09-09-2003, 09:25 AM
jackmott
Pro

Default Re: Heal Toe and Pedal Location (YellaFella)

I think you will find that when you are braking HARD under racing conditions, that the gas pedal will be at just the right height.
Old 09-09-2003, 09:47 AM
Jim 47
Melting Slicks

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

It's difficult to duplicate a hard braking heal/toe maneuver on the street unless you are alone on some deserted road or large paved area. If you try this hard braking maneuver in traffic you may find someone behind you parked in the rear of your car.