Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fire Extinguisher Requirements - HPDE?

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2020, 05:21 PM
PaConehead
Burning Brakes

Received 22 Likes on 21 Posts

Default Fire Extinguisher Requirements - HPDE?

I'm doing a little research on requirements for fire extinguishers for HPDE. Our club is an NCCC affiliate and runs an annaul HPDE and drivers schools under NCCC rules (for insurance purposes). For high speed events (autocross, TT, or school) NCCC requires all cars to have a mounted fire extinguisher with metal brackets and gage. (Note: cars with extinguishing systems meet the requirement). I've been doing HPDE for more than a few years and have not run across another organization that has this requirement. Just wondering if anybody has seen this requirement anywhere else.
Thanks

Last edited by PaConehead; 02-26-2020 at 05:22 PM.
Old 02-26-2020, 05:39 PM
Purple92
Melting Slicks

Received 786 Likes on 541 Posts

I've done a lot of HPDE's - and have never seen a requirement for each car to have an extinguisher. The mounting "language" is something I have seen before - but since the extinguisher was not required - the mounting stuff was just a recommendation.

And in more than 60 HPDE's - I've NEVER seen an in car fire extinguisher used. I've seen a fire extinguisher used in a garage when some spilled fuel ignited - but in that incident the extinguisher used was from inside the garage. I've never seen one of the in-car ones used....