Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

intro to autocross/track and first question about tire size

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2019, 01:14 PM
VikingTrad3r
Oil Producer
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,269 Likes on 1,451 Posts

Default intro to autocross/track and first question about tire size

Hi All. I'm a regular over in the C4 section. Loved these cars from when I was a kid. The only thing I cannot stand is the 80's rims.

Getting ready for my first season on the track, and some autocross events. I have zero experience and I'll be easing into it, with lots of coaching from the passenger seat.
I currently run c6 base 5 spokes on my c4, using the c6 tire size.

I need new tires, and would like to buy a tire that will serve me well as a street tire and will handle a beginners level of track events. I have a lot to learn so I do not need a dedicated set of track tires yet as I would be wasting them. I will be keeping my c6 rims as my track rims (unless there is something inherently dangerous about these particular rims on the track?)

So here is my question:

Should I match the replacement tire size to the same diameter of the original c4 tire? The width in the rear is going to be a tad bit wider, and the width up front is actually a tad bit narrower.

I was going to ignore the width differential, and was going to match the diameters of both wheels to the OEM diameters, buy altering the tires from what the stock c6 tire size is.

Curious if the group here has any counsel or guidance for me in this aspect.

I suppose another question is that I am using proper billet hubcentric adapters for my wheels to fit on my 86. I should probably ask if that is suicide. From what I have read, proper adapters are fine but go ahead and let me know what you guys have for experience there too. Thanks.

VT.