Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

heel-toe downshifting

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2016, 09:35 PM
jkg2101
Racer

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Default heel-toe downshifting

I am new to road racing (HPDE events only) - am using my 2008 z06 c6 corvette. I am really having a hard time matching revs for the downshifts. I know you are supposed to use different parts of your foot to hold the brake and 'blip' the throttle at the same time, but i cant figure out where to put my foot. Can anyone direct me to any videos that show someone doing this in a c6? the gas pedal seems to low compared to the brake, and I cant really hit it.
Old 06-18-2016, 11:00 PM
Last C5
Safety Car

Received 23 Likes on 21 Posts

When you are on the track you'll be stepping on the brake pedal with more force than you do on the street and the brake pedal won't seem so high above the gas. You brake with the ball of your foot and rock your foot to the right to blip the gas with the right edge of your foot.
Old 06-19-2016, 01:13 AM
Kamran
Pro

Received 85 Likes on 65 Posts

Here you go;

I mounted heel/toe plate to my gas pedal, which raises my gas pedal to almost equal level as my brake. Be very careful when on public streets if you are new to this, as the edge of your foot might accidentally catch the gas pedal during emergency braking. A friend of mine totaled his race car on public street doing this. That's why factories always have the brake pedal at a much higher activation level than gas pedal.

Last edited by Kamran; 06-19-2016 at 01:14 AM.
Old 06-19-2016, 07:49 AM
rocsvette
Pro

Received 171 Likes on 97 Posts