Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My first track day

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2014, 07:57 PM
Dan H.
Drifting

Received 131 Likes on 94 Posts
St. Jude Donor '17

Default My first track day

What a blast!!!

I am now home after a weekend at Summit Point in West Virgina. This is my first track day ever and all I can say is bravo. This was a SCCA PDX event. I was a total newb. I was assigned an instructor and he was awesome. His attitude and instruction was the right balance of fun, critical, and educational. I learned a ton. I understood the line, got the tires to squeal, hit 120mph each time, and braked waaaayy outside of my comfort zone! I learned my Z06 is a beast and capable of far more than my skills allow.

I thank the folks on this forum. I was well prepared. My car was set up with the proper maintenance prior to the event. I also had the right gear on sight while I was there.

Based on my experience, I will sign up for more events and I can't wait to do it!!!!

In the pits with my brother in law to-be. He has the BRZ and is an instructor

I can't believe it all fit! I camped at the track to, so that gears included

If you've been thinking about it, GO!!! You won't regret it
Old 05-04-2014, 08:32 PM
Bill Dearborn
Tech Contributor

Received 8,958 Likes on 5,346 Posts

Another addict!!! You are now standing at the top of the slippery slope staring down into the abyss that gets more costly the further you slide down. Just wondering if you are one of the guys that slides all the way down and in 5 or 6 years starts showing up at events in an 8 wheeler with two cars inside. Have seen it happen.

Bill

Last edited by Bill Dearborn; 05-04-2014 at 08:34 PM.
Old 05-04-2014, 08:36 PM
05dsom
Melting Slicks

Received 72 Likes on 47 Posts

Originally Posted by Bill Dearborn