Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help - My 1st session with Hoosier A6s

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2010, 04:11 AM
Coldmale
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Help - My 1st session with Hoosier A6s

Hi

I participate in sprints, ie individual time trials. The time trial is 2 laps, from a standing start. The total time is expected to be 2min and 40 secs

We get 2 practice sessions, each of 10-12 laps so total track time is expected to be under 15 minutes. There is approximately 1 hour between each practice session then 1 hour again to and between each time trial. In the practices, as many as 30 cars are on track at same time.

OK

I have been using MPSCs for 18 months and am nowing making the switch to the A6s as a number of you favour that tire. Its a 2007-z06 and I will use the 295x30x18 fronts and 345x30x19 rears.

Questions

1. First heat cycle. I propose to drive for about 30mins on the road taking it easy, not getting the tires above 45deg C (115f), then letting it sit for 24hrs
2. I drive to the track on race day, again easily
3. I have seen Frank and others recommend a 28F/26R cold pressure. This is where I will start from home on race day
4. For the 1st practice session, I will follow the hoosier advice and start easy and build up times by say 2 secs a lap, with my last lap being a flyer
5. I check the temperatures and look for an even spread across the tires and being an A6, hope that they do not exceed say 150F. [That was typically the temp of the MSPCs after practice]
6. I currently run 2deg 30min neg camber front and 2deg raer

Do you all agree? Is there a better way?
It takes 30 mins to drive to the track and I need that to warm up the motor, brakes etc, so I wont be using a trailer to save the tires

Thanks for any input

Ait temp on the day is likely to be around 75deg F

John