Audio/Electronics Stereo System Installation Info, Amplifiers, Subwoofers, Radar Detectors, Police Scanners, and CB Radios for the Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

C6 sound deadening/insulation

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2014, 06:45 PM
DezVette
Pro

Received 26 Likes on 25 Posts

Default C6 sound deadening/insulation

I am just getting into the audio portions of my C6 coupe mods. This weekend I will be installing the c2 JL Audio speaker package from DoubleD Mods. I am wondering if it would be worth it/noticeable to add any insulation to the doors while I have the panels off? Not ready to remove the seats and do the entire car, just yet. But would just the doors show improvements? If so, any tips? I see in the FAQ there are a couple of good threads that got me thinking about this. What kind of materials do you guys use? Any kits already fitted for a 2013 C6 coupe?
Old 03-26-2014, 09:59 PM
ATLS2
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I used murder matz on my doors while I had them off. I think its worth it.
Old 03-26-2014, 11:50 PM
DezVette
Pro

Received 26 Likes on 25 Posts

You have a link of where to buy? I live in LA and if I ask locally for "murder matz" I am sure to get a whole different kind of insulation.
Old 03-27-2014, 06:09 AM
Fasthotrod
Melting Slicks

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

I used Ensolite on the doors of my C5 and it made a world of difference. I also did the rear hatch area, which also helped a lot.

I bought everything to do my C6, but then recently traded it in on a new Silverado before I got it done. I've got a box of that stuff just sitting in the garage.

You can get damping materials and Ensolite here if you're interested. Good stuff.
Old 03-27-2014, 06:42 AM
ATLS2
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Ensolite is going to be my top layer. U have 8" midbass in the doors, so I need to stop the rattle too.
Old 03-27-2014, 09:19 AM
alxltd1
Melting Slicks

Received 113 Likes on 99 Posts
St. Jude Donor '10-'12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17