Audio/Electronics Stereo System Installation Info, Amplifiers, Subwoofers, Radar Detectors, Police Scanners, and CB Radios for the Corvette

1992 C4 amp self repair

Old 07-05-2013, 12:39 PM
SirNut
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1992 C4 amp self repair

Howdy everyone. I'm new to the C4 world and one of my first projects weill be refurbishing the factory audio system. The old head unit fried before I bought the car and as of now i have taken it out, replaced it with a nice Pioneer with bluetooth and connected a special harness from Crutchfield into the old bose wiring. the front speakers play music but at full volume on the radio they aren't very loud at all. some songs are hard to hear on the highway(volume at 62/62) i've already looked at a PAC line booster to increase the signal going to each amplifier unit. as of now i have these capacitors on hand: 493-4505-1-ND (1uf 50V) x 4, 604-1109-ND (10uf 16V) x 8, 604-1115-ND (47uf 16V) x 8, 495-2561-ND (.47uf 63V) x4, 565-1931-ND (56uf 16V) x 8.

I ordered these after reviewing an amp repair from a 1988 model. it seems as though my 92 has more components but the same capacitors. First are these resistances all accurate? and second does anyone know of any good write ups for a 91-93 C4 amp repair? any help would be great!

PS, i do have audio going to each speaker, it is just very very quiet. no squeals or hiss just low volume especially in the back. I can feel the cones moving slightly but cant hear anything

Last edited by SirNut; 07-05-2013 at 12:41 PM. Reason: added information
Old 07-06-2013, 01:33 AM
snoopdan
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

why would anyone want to fix that old bose junk?

BOSE = Buy Other Sound Equipment.

Just rip that crap out and start new.
Old 07-30-2013, 05:00 PM
Just BOB
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by snoopdan
why would anyone want to fix that old bose junk?

BOSE = Buy Other Sound Equipment.

Just rip that crap out and start new.