Audio/Electronics Stereo System Installation Info, Amplifiers, Subwoofers, Radar Detectors, Police Scanners, and CB Radios for the Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Question about the remote wire

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2012, 01:49 PM
deJong
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about the remote wire

I am installing a Pioneer X930BT as well as a 4 channel amp and sub amp. I am ready to hook up the remote wire and want to ensure that I splice into the blue and white wire on the HU wire harness. Also, do I need to splice at the other end to run the remote power to both amps? I appreciate the feedback. Just don't want to make a mistake.
Old 07-08-2012, 02:01 PM
needdlex
Racer

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

The remote wire is just a low voltage wire that gives a binary on/off signal.

I've never tried it before, but you can probably daisy chain a wire from one amp to the other one.
Old 07-08-2012, 02:41 PM
hymnatr
Instructor

Originally Posted by needdlex
The remote wire is just a low voltage wire that gives a binary on/off signal.

I've never tried it before, but you can probably daisy chain a wire from one amp to the other one.
Yes you can
Old 07-08-2012, 02:42 PM
markcz
Tech Contributor

Received 132 Likes on 114 Posts

The blue/white is the amp remote wire, just make sure you don't use the antenna control wire by mistake (they're both blue/white).

You can jumper the trigger wire to as many amps as you want as long as it's just a trigger signal, don't try to use it as the actual power source to something (fans, lights, etc...).
Old 07-08-2012, 03:21 PM
deJong
7th Gear

Thanks guys. I only have 1 blue and white wire but it is wired this wayhttp://forums.corvetteforum.com/audio-electronics/2692118-pics-and-info-on-wiring-a-roem-vet1.html

I had Dennis a DD Mods do this for me. Now I'm definitely not sure which wire to use.
Old 07-08-2012, 03:56 PM
markcz
Tech Contributor

Received 132 Likes on 114 Posts

Originally Posted by deJong