Audio/Electronics Stereo System Installation Info, Amplifiers, Subwoofers, Radar Detectors, Police Scanners, and CB Radios for the Corvette

Pioneer double din decks

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2012, 01:38 AM
taylor34
Racer
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 19 Likes on 13 Posts

Default Pioneer double din decks

Hey--

So I've been researching these decks for about 6 months (kenwood and pioneer), and it kind of seems through user reviews like nobody likes the Kenwoods really and the pioneer nav decks are marginal. However, everyone seems to love the 8400, 4400, etc line of dvd decks. My question is, does anyone here have any experience with these at all? I know that they lack Nav but based on the huge cost savings I can live with that. Trying to determine whether something like the 8400 is going to be that much better than my current factory Nav + pal setup.

I actually tried the new app radio 2 in the store, that actually seemed pretty sweet. The screen was better than anything else I saw at best buy, it was amazing. What was even more surprising about it was that it's screen was way better than the high end 930bt unit there.

Any feedback on the 8400/4400/3400 etc line would be appreciated. Thanks
Old 05-05-2012, 02:05 AM
WAwatchnut
Safety Car
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

Not sure why you think no one likes the Kenwood decks? Last years batch had some delay issues, but updated firmware has taken care of most of those issues. And the Nav is great. iPod integration is good, but Many prefer the Pioneer integration.

I have older Kenwoods (generation before last), and I think they're great.
Old 05-05-2012, 07:24 AM
tampatopless
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Yes, I can speak to this. I researched three Double Din, Bluetooth, non NAV units - the Kenwood, the Sony and Pioneer 2400 BT - for my son's Nissan.