Audio/Electronics Stereo System Installation Info, Amplifiers, Subwoofers, Radar Detectors, Police Scanners, and CB Radios for the Corvette

Putting a Nav System in a C6 with a stock radio/cd player

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2012, 01:49 AM
ExRedRacer
Team Owner

Received 1,029 Likes on 549 Posts
St. Jude Donor '05-'06-'07-'08-'09, '14-'15-'16-'17-'18

Default Putting a Nav System in a C6 with a stock radio/cd player

I'm kinda new to the C6 world and am about to purchase an '06 with absolutely everything on it except a Nav system.

Is there an aftermarket Nav/Stereo etc. unit that fits in the space where the original non-nav unit sits? I"m talking about it looking like it was made for that space. Who did you trust to do the work for you? What unit do you recommend?
Old 03-18-2012, 03:41 AM
WAwatchnut
Safety Car
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

You can put in any double DIN stereo, so pretty much anything. As long as you get the installation kit designed for the Corvette and newer GM dashes, the look will be almost identical to OEM. (older kits did not have the same texture to the plastic). The only "issue" is the OEM Nav pretty much fills he entire space, but aftermarket units are slightly smaller, and will have an extra small trim ring (the installation kit) around the radio itself.

The install isn't a big deal, so most good shops, with Vette experience, should be okay. I had the only shop I really trust do it... Me!

Best way to do it is to buy the proper harnesses to integrate into the Vette, and then no wires need to be cut... Wire everything up outside the car, and then it's just plug and play. (this is with the non-Bose system... If you haveBose, it may be the same, but I haven't done one myself, so I'm not certain).

General consensus is that the Kenwood units have the best Nav (Garmin based), while the Pioneer units have better iPod integration.

Last edited by WAwatchnut; 03-18-2012 at 04:02 AM.
Old 03-18-2012, 08:15 AM
UmX