Audio/Electronics Stereo System Installation Info, Amplifiers, Subwoofers, Radar Detectors, Police Scanners, and CB Radios for the Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Radar vs. Laser

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2006, 01:59 PM
tv_dir
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Radar vs. Laser

I have been using the Valentine 1 for about 10 years now. I really like the "arrows" and it has been the best radar detector I've owned. The big problem is when I do have the road to myself...ZAP! LASER!

Do the Laser jammers REALLY work?? When I'm alone on the road and there is a police officer "lurking" behind a tree, will they REALLY scramble his signal?? Will he not SEE that I am going "a little fast"?? Do the police NOT pull you over because they don't get a true reading??

Please give your thoughts on laser jammers before I go and spend a small fortune for something that won't help. Before you slam me I know JUST SLOW DOWN!!

Thanks for your thoughts
Old 05-22-2006, 03:06 PM
Gearhead Jim
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,060 Likes on 1,368 Posts
St. Jude Donor '13

As you probably know, jamming RADAR is illegal everywhere- technically, it's a federal felony. Besides, the radar jammers you can buy are junk.

Jamming laser is not illegal under federal law but about a dozen states states have passed their own. Illinois made it illegal Jan 1 of this year, mere possession in the car is an offense. And they take the jammer as evidence. Fine isn't very high though, and you are supposed to get the jammer back after court.

Some jammers work very well, others are junk. The Blinder unit gets good reviews, try a Google search.
Old 05-22-2006, 03:11 PM
xs650
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

There are reports on some LIDAR jammers that sound good. Like Gearhead said, they are illegal in several states, so be discrete in how you mount it and use it if you are in one of those states.