C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Turbocharging: What engine to choose?

Old 09-01-2013, 04:50 AM
Blazekillerace
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Turbocharging: What engine to choose?

I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice as to what engine I should pick to turbocharge. Currently I have a 383 Stroker N/A in my 1979 C3 Vette, but it's too high of compression to even consider FI. I kind of want to know what route should I take, stick with sbc's? Or should I invest in a LS series engine? I would think the LS series blocks would be better due to their better design. But could a sbc still be as good? Possibly more budget friendly?

I'm sure I am leaving out some important details to include. I am new to any type of FI. If I do happen to stick with a sbc design, what would you recommend? Appreciate any advice!

Thanks,
Blake
Old 09-01-2013, 06:49 AM
76strokervette
Burning Brakes

Received 200 Likes on 156 Posts

I would reccomend you start with an aftermarket block and forged
rotating assembly.Then get a good pair of aluminum heads to top it off.
What kind of power output are you looking for?Either platform can be
done to make serious power.The sbc route will require fewer special parts.Starting with a dart or world products block is where I would start.They both have many improvements over factory blocks.
Old 09-01-2013, 08:26 AM
Blazekillerace
Advanced

Originally Posted by 76strokervette
I would reccomend you start with an aftermarket block and forged
rotating assembly.Then get a good pair of aluminum heads to top it off.
What kind of power output are you looking for?Either platform can be
done to make serious power.The sbc route will require fewer special parts.Starting with a dart or world products block is where I would start.They both have many improvements over factory blocks.