C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can I disable OnStar? They're spying on me!

Old 06-25-2013, 06:19 PM
StuSegal
47 yrs of Vettes
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Can I disable OnStar? They're spying on me!

My new Grand Sport which I picked up from Kerbeck's final C6 inventory came with OnStar (my '06, which I ordered from the factory, did not).

So, at the one month interval, today, they sent me an email entitled "Your June OnStar Vehicle Diagnostics report from your Chevrolet Corvette Coupe", in which they tell me my mileage, my oil life, the condition of my airbags, etc.

WHO THE HELL ARE THESE PEOPLE TO BE GATHERING INFORMATION FROM MY VEHICLE???? CAN I SHUT IT OFF???

My position is this - - I've been driving for 46 years, and have been driving Vettes for 41 years . . . . and somehow have been able to successfully own, drive and maintain my cars without anyone covertly gathering data on the cars. I can track my own information just fine.

As to the other features, I have an iPhone, and a Nav system . . . so why do I need OnStar?

Can you guys enlighten me? Am I just being paranoid for no reason?

Thanks . . . Stu
Old 06-25-2013, 06:21 PM
flange
Team Owner

Received 267 Likes on 136 Posts
St. Jude Donor '14

I didnt like it either, but like the rest of life, big brother is watching. after six months when the trial ends, they wont send you reports anymore, just offers ot renew, lol. some have ripped the boxes out. others dotn drive their car in fear of the box. Me, i just drive it. if they contact me without authorization we got problems.
Old 06-25-2013, 06:28 PM
CodyC6
Melting Slicks

Originally Posted by StuSegal

Am I just being paranoid for no reason?

Stu
Yes.
Old 06-25-2013, 06:28 PM
Ryan5508
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts