C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C6 as your daily driver and LS2 vs LS3- feedback

Old 05-21-2013, 09:33 PM
village idiot
Le Mans Master

Received 1,913 Likes on 1,053 Posts

Default C6 as your daily driver and LS2 vs LS3- feedback

I'm pretty sure I'm going to get one regardless of what everyone says, but here goes anyway:

Single 29yr old male with no kids. Spent the past 8 years in college and the next 2 working for near nothing at experience builder jobs. Want something fun and don't give a damn if it isn't practical in terms of room and driving in bad weather (I'm a fairly experience driver on the track so bad weather doesn't scare me and work closes the 1 day it snows here in Dallas).

I drive about 20-25k miles a year (lots of travel for work). Current car is great (LS2 GTO 6spd coilovers, etc) but climbing in miles and I just want to change it up a bit. Plus it only averages about 18mpg with 85% highway (I get 23 highway at best around 70-75).

My first thought was an Elise but after reading the forums there, it seems like a disaster. Just not a daily driver.

Camaro just sucks. I've driven an SS on a road course and on the street. Fat understeering miserable to drive and no fun. 400hp is just muted by the weight. I'd crush a Mustang going into and out of turns just to have it completely leave me in the straights.

I thought about getting another Silverado. Would be nice for hauling my bikes (3 track bikes), but about zero fun + not good mpg. I love the ease of driving (visibility, not caring about potholes and etc), but I just didn't love it. I was close to buying one but backed out when I realized I was paying $50k for a truck I didn't want.

Only Mustang I liked was 5.0 track pack- $38k, what a new 1LT is going for. Nope.

The Questions:

So now I'm at a super low mileage C6 M6 (currently an 07 3LT w/ 15k miles for $28k or an 08 1LT w/ 10k miles for $31-32k).