C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

lowering bolts SHOT

Old 02-19-2013, 12:19 AM
HANNY
Safety Car

Received 156 Likes on 105 Posts
Default lowering bolts SHOT

second set of lowering bolts i have installed on my 09. The car only has 12,000 miles so needless to say the bolts stink!!!! Wouldnt be right to call out the 2 different vendors i used "BUT" i can say i think most if not all the lowering bolts are the same. They just dont hold up and the rubber part wears thru quick, then starts to squeek, then wears into your control arm then youre really screwed. i corner pretty hard for sure but they should last longer then 6k per set.
This is just my experience and my driving habits arent like others who may not have problems with them but i did. I'm an ASE master certified tech who knows a little about stuff,,, i thot about going hardbar but with the idea they may rub a groove in the control arm i decided not to. The issue i have with the ones i have is weak/bad rubber product that just doesnt last.
Couple pics for lookin, be safe. pAuL

Old 02-19-2013, 12:21 AM
Chets LS3
Melting Slicks

Received 77 Likes on 62 Posts

Mine looked like that. Buy hardbar lowering bolts. Seem to be better. Only downfall you have to lube them up well.
Old 02-19-2013, 07:16 AM
LFZ
Team Owner

Received 310 Likes on 227 Posts

Yep...been there...don't that.
Old 02-19-2013, 07:36 AM
JW Motorsports
Banned Scam/Spammer

Received 265 Likes on 253 Posts
St. Jude Donor '09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17,'19,'22

I've seen that quite a bit over the years with those kits. It's hard to believe they keep selling them. They have to know by now
Old 02-19-2013, 08:08 AM
AORoads
Team Owner

Received 2,478 Likes on 1,941 Posts
St. Jude Donor '15
"In honor of jpee"