C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Aftermarket wheels for my '79.

Old 01-26-2013, 09:52 AM
kenarab
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Aftermarket wheels for my '79.

I'm fairly new to the Corvette hobby. I'd like to move to an aftermarket wheel for my 1979. the standard wheel is a 15x7 (I believe). I'd like to go to an 18" wheel, with no other modifications to the car. Could anyone give me some suggestions as to manufacturers, knowledgeable websites/dealers who could help me? Maybe even suggest some wheels styles?
Old 01-26-2013, 02:09 PM
Learning_Curve
Burning Brakes

Received 72 Likes on 36 Posts

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/c3-g...ly-thread.html

Scroll through here to give you some ideas. Stock wheel size is 15x8, with 4 inches of backspace. If you move to 18x8 with 4 inches of backspace you won't have any fitment problems. You can go wider in the rear, but you'll have to measure to ensure that you won't run into fitment issues.
Old 01-26-2013, 10:02 PM
kenarab
Cruising

Learning Curve, Thanks for the reply. I just scrolled thru the thread, and I'm feeling really good about this now! I'll probably get the same size all around so I can rotate tires. I can't wait to get them so I can post pics on that thread.
Old 01-26-2013, 11:26 PM
Learning_Curve
Burning Brakes

Makes sense. Most performance tires are directional, so you can only swap front to rear and not side to side. As long as you keep your car in alignment, it shouldn't be a problem.

Funny how those rear tires seem to wear so much faster than the fronts, no?
Old 01-27-2013, 06:25 AM
jb78L-82
Le Mans Master

Received 740 Likes on 617 Posts

Just an option, here is my 78 with 17 inch SLP's with 255/45/17 ZR tires. These rims fit perfectly with no mods required anywhere. I was looking to replace the OEM aluminum rims with something that was not too flashy.

[IMG][/IMG]