C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Finally found a 2004R $145

Old 04-30-2012, 09:00 PM
johnt365
Drifting

Received 33 Likes on 21 Posts

Default Finally found a 2004R $145

I love Craigslist. I have been hunting for a 2004R for a while and basically looking through most of Texas. I finally found one about 15 minutes away. Guy pulled it out of an 87 Monte Carlo SS to put in a 700R4. He included the converter, tv cable, carb bracket and a yoke. I couldn't believe it when I saw it.

Now I gotta figure out how to make it work. I am not sure on the drive shaft length, Ujoint and lock up function but I am sure this forum has the answers.

I have 3.55 rear gears so this should bring my starting ratio down just a bit and give me the overdrive gear.

I'd love to hear from anybody who has a CZF code trans on what to expect from a stock unit.

Last edited by johnt365; 04-30-2012 at 09:03 PM.
Old 04-30-2012, 09:07 PM
SIXFOOTER
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 24 Likes on 23 Posts

If thats a healthy tranny you did Great!
If its replacing a TH350C you don't have to worry about the drive shaft length.
Bowtie Overdrives used to have a circuit to show you how to wire up the lockup, you need that too by the way, it will burn the clutches without it.
You will need to get the shifter upgrade kit from Shiftworx to makr the shift handle, detents and overlay inside to work out right.
Good find
Old 04-30-2012, 09:14 PM
johnt365
Drifting

I will call them. I am replacing a TH400. If I understand it right, the 2004R should kinda bolt right up and use the existing mounting holes in the stock cross member for a TH 400.
Old 04-30-2012, 10:17 PM
MakoShark72
Safety Car

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

I replaced my TH400 and, other than changing out to the TH350 tailpiece, it was a BOLT IN swap. Even the cross-member holes lined up perfectly.