C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

62 clutch to hard to push

Old 03-07-2012, 06:06 AM
aworks
Melting Slicks

Received 31 Likes on 19 Posts

Default 62 clutch to hard to push

I have what sounds to me like a stupid question. What is the purpous of the giant spring?

I have all the stock rods and zbar mocked up in the car now with no spring. The clutch is just a Hays dia. unit. There is no way I could drive this car. The clutch is way to hard to push. I don't have a spring to try but it makes no sense to me that it would help the clutch disengage. On the other hand I do not understand why it would need the giant spring for a return. I am no expert on these early cars. Midyears no problem.

So what do you guys think? I can go hyd. but was never a big fan.

Brian G.
Old 03-07-2012, 07:11 AM
BarryK
Le Mans Master

Received 35 Likes on 11 Posts

something doesn't sound right. I'm surely no expert on anything, C1 or C2, but I know how my stock C2 clutch feels and while i only drove a C1 car twice the feel and "weight" of the clutch was really no different than my '65 clutch.

If your clutch is really that hard to push than something has to be wrong.

sorry, I know this gives yo no answer to your question but it's an independent outside observation.
Old 03-07-2012, 07:12 AM
cam30era
Pro

Received 39 Likes on 30 Posts

I am not an expert on '62s. But it sounds like what you are describing by "giant spring" is the over center assist spring. And yes, it does indeed reduce the effort in the bottom half of the clutch pedal travel.
Old 03-07-2012, 07:29 AM
ejboyd5
Drifting

Received 326 Likes on 189 Posts