Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] Johnny O'Connell Shocks: My Review

Old 10-24-2011, 02:46 PM
160KTS
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Johnny O'Connell Shocks: My Review

Now that I've had these installed for a few weeks and a few hundred miles, I figured it's time to write a review.

Everything from the packaging to the way the shock looked was A+, except I am not an expert box opener.
This is what arrived just two days after it shipped!!

So then, time passes and more miles on my stock shocks are there. But hey, whatever.. just waiting for my shop to have an opening to install these bad boys. And then that day came.

Installed pic

After I picked my car up (I believe it was about a 3 hours install) I immediately noticed the differences that it made when hitting large bumps and connections on the freeways. It was still noticeable, but it felt more like the car was gliding over them than slamming over them. The ride was a little more rough on very little things like reflectors on the freeway but other than that the ride remained about the same and it was certainly nothing to complain about.

As far as handling goes, the car feels very secure and very planted. The car literally feels like it has superglue holding it to the ground sometimes which is pretty neat compared to the stock Z06 feel of "zomg is the rear gonna come out on me?". BTW I'm running NT05's on the rear and some PS2's up front that need replaced (which I realized how badly I needed new fronts [I'm switching those to NT05's as well] until I got these installed).