Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

[Z06] Vararam Intake install

Old 01-02-2011, 10:57 PM
sabastian458
Melting Slicks

Received 32 Likes on 24 Posts

Default Vararam Intake install

I just finished installing my Vararam. I will say this, I am a fully capable mechanic. I can rebuild manual transmissions, engines, and most anything else. I have no fear in tackling any repairs. But this, this I will never do again. Took 5.5 hours. Seriously. I took out a T56 from a 68 Camaro today to reseal the trans and install a twin disk. That took 2 hours to drop, in my garage on jack stands by myself. And installing this intake took me 5.5, I will stay 30 mins of that was because I couldnt read the instructions about the Z06 screens.

The fitment of this intake on my car is HORRID. This may just be specific to my car, Im not sure.

The ram ducts fit good, but the center piece that connects the 2 ducts took a lil work to get the holes lines up, but nothing too drastic. But when trying to fit the radiator shroud back into place, that took 1.5 hours in of itself. The ram tubes keep the shroud from being able to move in the specific angle needed to fit back into its place. I had to bend, fight, twist, scream, and beat the thing into its place and it still doesnt quite fit perfect.

Once that was installed, I went to button up with the Power Duct. That is where the 2nd half of my time was spent. This does not fit the way the instructions say. Even after manipulating the pieces for hours, it still does not fit right, but I have it together and running. I can try to explain the misfitment, but pictures work better. So here are a few I snapped while between fits of anger.

What was on the car when I bought it.
Name:  0102111612.jpg
Views: 5996
Size:  87.0 KB

This is how it is suppose to install, with the MAF being at the very end of the Power Duct and right at the Throttle Body.
Name:  0102111617a.jpg
Views: 4352
Size:  57.0 KB

This is how the MAF is suppose to be according to instructions.