C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Abnormal tire wear/alignment

Old 08-18-2011, 11:57 AM
vdavenp802
Drifting

Received 87 Likes on 53 Posts

Default Abnormal tire wear/alignment

On a recent trip across SD, had felt a slight vibration/shimmy (75+). Had the tires checked by Goodyear and they are at 40% left. 18K, on standard vert 07.

Took it to have a road force balance and the tech sad tires(front) were too baldy cupped to balance on the hunter equipment. Need new tires all around.

WTF?

Can this be?

Shocks, bearings and all other suspension parts were checked while wheels were off car and they reported no visible issues.

How common is this. I mean 18k miles and a whacko alignment. I've been driving for a good many years(shortly after rubber tires were invented lol) and this is a first. I am generally a moderate driver given to an occassional spirited episode (carefully).

No off road stuff, or gravel roads and the like. Mainly town/interstate.

Spouse does drive the car too.....

Don't want to have more goodyear, but don't want to replace 4 tires, rears have 60% left.

Suggestions, thoughts, ideas welcomed.

Also key, must stick with runflats. Won't buy anything french anymore, I've owned my last firestone ( on an 99 exploder, thank youvery much).

I think that leaves Pirelli.

Old 08-18-2011, 12:04 PM
Vette_DD
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,276 Likes on 935 Posts
St. Jude Donor '21-'22-'23-'24

On the OEM tires, the rears start with more tread than the fronts. Fronts have 10/32" of tread when new, rears have 11/32" of tread. I got about 32K out of the front tires on my previous 06 C6 w/o Z51.

Your 40% left with 18K on the front tires says 30K total. Other problem with the tires is something else and I don't know tires, so I can't help you with what caused the cupping.
Old 08-18-2011, 12:23 PM
RJRSW
Melting Slicks

Received 45 Likes on 31 Posts