C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Replacing the Heads on a L98 (86 C4)

Old 05-03-2011, 05:55 PM
Lucky Kid
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing the Heads on a L98 (86 C4)

I'm extremely new to the vette world and I need to rebuild the heads on my L98. I've been told that it was overheated by the previous owner and lacks compression. Possibly the valve seats are warped. The bottom end sounds ok when I turn it over and it only has 78K on the clock.

I don't want to dump too much money into it, but I'd like to get the best bang for my buck.

Should I rebuild the exsisting heads, get rebuilt ones, or is there some aftermarket heads I should look at? Jegs and Summit have a couple heads but I have no idea on compatibility.

I've pulled motors before but have never done a rebuild. Is there a good write up online to pulling the heads?

I've been searching, but I didn't find much on this topic.

Thanks in Advance,
Lucky Kid
Old 05-03-2011, 06:19 PM
floridamale
Safety Car

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Try this thread it should get you some basic information

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/c4-t...n-89-vert.html

Check CorvetteMike2004 link at the bottom
Old 05-03-2011, 06:38 PM
Muffin
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts