C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Rocker arm came off valve - damaged

Old 06-18-2010, 03:45 PM
mcox8051
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rocker arm came off valve - damaged

New problem today with my '96 Grand Sport or maybe the old problem has gotten worse? I'm still getting opinions on the clashing noise on startup. Bill at ZR51 Performance says that if it were the clutch fork scraping it would do it every time I shift ...today I took the car for a spin and all was well for about 25 miles. Car runs great and quick but never tached it over 4500 rpm, I don't drive hard, just cruise around. Started hearing a ticking, like a lifter or something, it started running rough, limped home, popped the hood and saw a valve cover bolt moving on the right side! I knew this was not good. Removed the cover. I'm not an engine expert but have tinkered a little, so I don't know whether its intake or exhaust, but the 4th rocker arm from the rear was off the valve and had broken off the spacer for the valve cover bolt. Luckily I was able to remove the broken threads. The rocker is damaged. The two-piece keys were laying in the head. Other than the damage to the roller rocker, everything looks straight. The rocker arm bolt was tight. I was wondering if anyone knows what might have happened and what I should do. As mentioned before, the previous owner put in "a GM Hot cam, upgraded springs, new lifters, new valve seals." Something had to cause this to happen. What further damage could there be, could the piston be damaged?