C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Injectors on one side not working.

Old 12-09-2009, 03:37 PM
davedirt
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Injectors on one side not working.

Let me preface this by saying I am no mechanic. I have a 1989 L-98. Currently it will crank, but runs like s#%t! I have narrowed the problem down to the fuel injectors on the drivers side. With the car running, I unplugged all four injectors on that side - no change in the way the car was running. Like I said, I'm not a mechanic so I don't know where to look from here. I have had it in two shops. They don't even want to fool with it. (I can't afford to pay them either!) I am hoping someone here may have some experience they can share.
Old 12-09-2009, 03:46 PM
bitsa85
Instructor

If all 4 of your injectors go bad at once you should go play the lottery right now because that would be very rare. That being said it sounds like the drivers side injector harness is the first place I would look for the problem.(ie..broken and or grounded wires.)
Old 12-09-2009, 03:57 PM
bitsa85
Instructor

Oh, and I forgot to mention.... Do not assume that it is the injectors without testing the plugs and wires for spark and eleminating them or verifing them as the problem. I am an ASC certifed master tech and before I changed careers to IT I worked as a auto tech for 15 years so you can trust my advise.If you need it I can im you my phone# so we can work the problem more efficently.
Old 12-09-2009, 04:00 PM
94z07fx3
Race Director

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

One bad injector can cause a bank to fail.

Disco them one at a time to see if the remaning three begin to work. Ohm them hot and cold. Watch the videos in the FIC sticky.
Old 12-09-2009, 04:03 PM
94vettelover2
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by davedirt