Factory Correct Resto Corvette Restoration Tips, Bodywork, Numbers Matching, Period-Correct Modifications or Original Condition

"M" Code Engine Block

Old 10-27-2008, 01:23 PM
khoffx2
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default "M" Code Engine Block

I've been visiting Corvette Forum for a while now, but this is my first time posting. I recently purchased a 1970 LT1 convertible advertized as "numbers matching", and have been attempting to decode the various engine components.

Everything checks out so far for both numbers and dates (carburator, intake and exhaust manifolds, cylinder heads, alternator, distributor, radiator, transmission, rear, etc.), but when I got to the engine block I got confused.

The VIN is 194670S402856 reflecting a February 1970 build date, the pad reads (on the left) 70S402856 and (on the right) V0I20CTU and the door certification label shows a 2-70 build date, but the block casting date shows "M 108".

All of the reference materials that I have state that the first letter of the casting date is a reference to the casting month (A=January...L=December), the second and third numbers are the day of the month, and the last number is the year. Nowhere is an M listed as the first letter of the casting date. After further research I found a camero site that referenced 3970010 "M" code engine blocks. It said,

""M"-Coded Blocks: There is one exception to the normal block casting date convention that has been observed: some blocks have been seen with "M" cast codes. Research by the Saginaw Metal Casting Operations of GM Powertrain Division has found that these "M" codes are not date codes, but actually a foundry code used to indentify parts that were made to evaluate a casting process change. After evaluating the parts, the blocks would either be destroyed or released into production. There is no way to determine the date an "M"-coded block was poured."

Does anyone have any information concerning the above? Any help would be appreciated.