C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Does Techron really work

Old 11-24-2008, 05:53 PM
HG
Melting Slicks

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Does Techron really work

I'm new to the C5's and read some threads about the gauge problem with C5's. So far, the 99 with 47K miles I just purchased seems OK. Should I treat the car to Techron,is so, where do you purchase it. Parts store like NAPA ? Thanks for any help.
Old 11-24-2008, 06:01 PM
motogib1
Melting Slicks

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts

I buy it at Autozone. Many folks on CF claim it has resolved problems with the fuel sender gumming up. I use and have not had any fuel gauge problems.
Old 11-24-2008, 06:04 PM
CLEAR
Burning Brakes

Received 76 Likes on 42 Posts

I always use gas with Techron in it. I have also bought a bottle of it and my guauge still screws up. I did actually buy 2 more bottles of it today at walmart, which was a little cheaper than Advance. I added a bottle today and Im letting the car sit with about a half tank of gas. When I top off in a couple of days I will add another bottle. Fingers Crossed!
Old 11-24-2008, 06:05 PM
Bill Dearborn
Tech Contributor

Received 8,910 Likes on 5,325 Posts

I get mine at stores like Advanced Auto or Autozone. It seems to get the sulfer content off from the fuel sending unit. Have had the fuel gauges on my 03 Z and 03 Tahoe start acting weird and the Techron got them working again. It only takes one fill up of high sulfer gas to kill the sending unit in most cars nowadays. It seems like there are random occurrences of high sulfer gas escaping from refineries and causing a lot of fuel gauge problems in the area the refinery supports. Saw this happen in Northwestern PA a couple of years ago. There were hundreds of cars that had problems.

Bill
Old 11-24-2008, 06:07 PM
HG
Melting Slicks