C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Problem with EBCM & BPMV

Old 06-18-2008, 06:41 PM
Marty2000
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Problem with EBCM & BPMV

I took my 2000 in for service because the ABS and traction control warning lights were on. The dealer said that the EBCM was bad. I had him replace it. Then while driving shortly after the repair the lights came on again. Now he says that the BPMV is bad and it will cost $2300 to replace it. He got code C1243 this time.

I am a novice when it comes to Corvettes and need some help.
1. What is wrong.
2. Why did the problem not show when they replaced the electronic unit?
3. Any suggestions, is the BPMV repairable or must it be replaced?
4. What will happen if I do nothing and just drive the car?

Thanks,
Marty
Old 06-18-2008, 08:33 PM
Bill Dearborn
Tech Contributor

Received 8,917 Likes on 5,327 Posts

Depending on the original failure the diagnostic procedure leads the tech through a series of tests. Depending on the result of those tests the procedure could call for the replacement of the EBCM or both the EBCM and BPMV.

With Code C1243 the system has detected the pump motor running slowly this condition can cause the relay contacts in the EBCM to burn and if it had shown up on the original diagnosis probably would have resulted in both modules being replaced at that time.

There is no way to fix the BPMV so it needs to be replaced. Replacement means removing it from the hydraulic system so when it is replaced the brakes will have to be bled and the BPMV will have to be bled using a Tech 2.

If you do nothing your car will drive just fine. You will still have the base brake system which isn't affected by ABS system failures. However, you will not have ABS or Traction Control.

Bill
Old 06-18-2008, 08:44 PM
BlackZ06
Safety Car