Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

[Z06] Service ABS System, Service Traction Control System

Old 02-05-2008, 02:48 PM
BCAM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Service ABS System, Service Traction Control System

I realize that this has been brought up a number of times.
The search also showed that this was usually an electrical malfunction.

My story:
2002 Z06 Stock save 1 c6z06 shifter
Conditions: *Roads wet*, overcast out

Taking a friend for a ride and I entered a slow corner/chicane in first gear and gave it about 50% throttle. The tail hopped and the subject line appeared on the information screen on the dash. I immediately let off and pulled over, restarted, etc. The car still drives and accelerates normally. However, if I cause a condition that would normally initiate the traction control (80% - 100% throttle/1st or 2nd gear), the rear end responds with quite a bit of wheel hop.

I am new to the Corvette community (over from Subaru (STI)), and am not yet entirely familiar with the beast. The problem seems mechanical. What happens when this error comes on? Is the traction control malfunctioning or is it in a limp mode (if you will)? Is it possible that the conditions of the road and the wheel hop confused the traction/abs systems and it simply needs to be reset?

Please advise, thanks guys!
Old 02-05-2008, 03:53 PM
RedLS1GTO
Race Director

Received 42 Likes on 9 Posts

search EBCM.

I hope it is something else!
Old 02-05-2008, 04:00 PM
jolitaly
Instructor

I had the same message, I would check the ground. It fixed my problem.
Old 02-05-2008, 05:32 PM
Tom Steele
Le Mans Master

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Interesting, I am here because a few days ago I was heading to work in my 2002 Z06 with only a shifter mod and I hit a good puddle with the right front tire.

Nothing major, and in fact it is a spot I frequent and hit that puddle a lot. It is one of those that startles you because it makes a lot of noise and pulls the steering wheel just a little.