C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Can I paint my car myself?

Old 12-28-2005, 01:21 AM
MNorlander
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Can I paint my car myself?

Hi. I'm an 18year old student who was lucky enough to find a good deal on an '86 vette. Would it be possible to do a paint job on my vette myself? The hood really needs it and the body kit and back could use a touchup as well. As you could guess I really enjoy this car and am trying to get it looking, running, and sounding really nice. It's just that I work for every cent that's spent on it and I really can't imagine paying $600 just for a hood paint job.. argh.

Here are the pics:
Old 12-28-2005, 01:33 AM
Aggravated4life
Race Director

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Cruise-In II Veteran

I learned all my painting tips from www.autobodystore.com
They have a discussion board and you can even by their painting 101 video.I bought the video and it was OK.Was hoping for more but gave a beginner like me the important insights.

Learn all you can before doing anything.That way you can practice and get really good at it.

Old 12-28-2005, 02:05 AM
Morley
Drifting

For the cost of having someone else paint your hood (your $600 quote) you could give your entire car a nice paint job yourself...if you already have a good compressor (or rent one)
Check these forums http://www.a2zautoforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=49
http://autobody101.com/forums/viewforum.php?f=5
Old 12-28-2005, 02:10 AM
hippy
Le Mans Master

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

Have you ever painted a car before? If not do you really want to test your skills on your vette?
Old 12-28-2005, 03:04 AM
CentralCoaster
Team Owner

Location: San Diego , CA Double Yellow DirtBags 1985..Z51..6-speed
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts

I learned some tips on painting after doing the front of my friend's mustang. Used Duplicolor spray paint.